Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

“Occult sciences” created in the sixteenth century. The term ordinarily incorporated three practices, Astrology (crystal gazing), alchemy (speculative chemistry) and Natural magic (normal enchantment), albeit here and there different forms of divination were likewise included as opposed to being subsumed under common enchantment. These were assembled because, according to the historian of religion Wouter Hanegraaff, “every last one of them occupied with a precise examination of nature and regular procedures, with regards to theoretical frameworks that depended vigorously on a belief in occult characteristics, temperance’s or forces.” Despite the fact that there are regions of cover between these diverse occult sciences, they are independent and now and again experts of one would dismiss the others as being ill-conceived.

During the Illumination, the expression “occult” progressively came to be viewed as naturally incongruent with the idea of “science”. Starting there on, utilization of the expression “occult science(s)” inferred a cognizant questioning against standard science.

Occult characteristics

Occult characteristics are properties that have no known balanced clarification; in the Medieval times, for instance, magnetism (attraction) was viewed as an occult quality. Aether (traditional component) is another such component. Newton’s contemporaries seriously condemned his theory that gravity was affected through “activity a way off”, as occult.

Some of Occult Symbols and their meanings

Baphomet – The Goat of Mendes

The picture of Baphomet was originally made in 1854 by occultist Eliphas Levi for his book Dogme et Rituel de la Haute Magie (“Dogmas and Rituals of High Magic”). It mirrors a number of standards thought about central to occultists, and was impacted by Hermeticism, Kabbalah, and Alchemy (speculative chemistry), among different sources.

The Rosy Cross or Rose Cross

The Rose Cross is related with a number of various ways of thinking, including that of the Golden Dawn, Thelema, the OTO, and the Rosicrucians (otherwise called the Order of the Rose Cross). Each gathering offers to some degree various translations of the image. This ought not be astounding as enchanted, occult and exclusive images are habitually used to convey thoughts more mind boggling than is conceivable to communicate in discourse.

The Tetragrammaton.

God is called by numerous names in Hebrew. The tetragrammaton (Greek for “word of four letters”) is the one name that attentive Jews will record yet won’t articulate, believing the word to be excessively blessed for expression.  Early Christian transliterates articulated it as Jehovah from in any event the seventeenth century. In the nineteenth century, the word was transliterated into Yehweh. The disarray originates from Latin sources, in which a similar letter speaks to both J and Y, and another single letter speaks to both V and W. Hebrew is perused from option to left. The letters making up the tetragrammaton are (from option to left) Yod, He, Vau, and He. In English, it is ordinarily worked out as YHWH or JHVH.  Occultists situated in Judeo-Christian folklore think about the Hebrew names of God, (for example, Adonai and Elohim) to hold force, and none is more impressive than the tetragrammaton. In occult delineations, God is most normally spoken to by the tetragrammaton.

The Hyle

One may propose that it is a piece of God, the dim emptiness existing contrary to the inventive force more usually connected with God. Note that the Hyle is not the slightest bit evil. It is, truth be told, the quintessence of not being anything: it is vast non-presence. Neither one of the halves subsumes the other, as is demonstrated by the way that while the Hyle circle and the triangle of God cross, both likewise exist beyond the other.

Crossing point of Hyle and God

Inside this crossing point are the three domains of renaissance cosmology: physical, heavenly/celestial and spiritual. While they are more generally delineated as concentric rings, with the superior spiritual realm being the peripheral and the inferior physical domain being the deepest, they are portrayed similarly. This ought not be taken that Fludd has altered his perspective but instead the confinements of symbology. He needs to spread them out as such so as to show their relationship with the tetragrammaton. Symbols of God; The second is the utilization of the triangle. Because Christianity imagines God as a tripartite being of Father, Son and Holy Ghost joined inside a solitary godhead, the triangle is usually utilized as an image for God.

The Created Universe; The lower triangle encapsulates three concentric circles, with its inside being a strong mass. The strong mass is genuine physical reality as we normal experience it, the most material portion of creation. The circles speak to the three domains: Physical, Celestial and Angelic (labeled here as the Elemental, Aether, and Emperean).

 Intermediary Steps Between Matter and Spirit.

Neoplatonic theory holds that there is a solitary extreme source layers, every one more flawless than the one below and less impeccable than the one above. from which all things slide. Each phase of drop from a definitive source contains less of the original flawlessness. The outcome is a progression of graduated

Creation Model Versus Literal Composition of the Heavens.

The Sigillum Dei Aemeth, or Seal of the Truth of God, is most generally known through the works and ancient rarities of John Dee, a sixteenth century occultist and crystal gazer in the court of Elizabeth I. While the sigil shows up in more seasoned writings of which Dee was most likely recognizable, he was not content with them and eventually picked up direction from heavenly attendants to develop his form.

In Popular Culture

Tree of Life

The Tree of Life, called the Etz Chaim in Hebrew, is a typical visual portrayal of the ten sephirot of Kabbalah. Each sephirot speaks to a trait of God through which he shows his will. The Tree of Life doesn’t speak to a solitary, neatly determinable framework. It very well may be applied to the formation and presence of both the physical world and supernatural worlds, just as to one’s own spirit, condition, or comprehension. What’s more, various ways of thinking, for example, Kabbalistic Judaism and current Western occultism, additionally offer various translations.

Vertical and Horizontal Groupings

The following three sephirot (Hesed, Gevurah, Tiferet) are the essential feelings. They are the sparkle of activity and are objectives until themselves.

The last three (Netzah, Hod, Yesod) are the optional feelings. They have a more substantial indication and are intends to different finishes as opposed to being simply the closures.

Hieroglyphic Monad

The image was made by John Dee and described in the Monas Hieroglyphica, or Hieroglyphic Monad, in 1564. The image is expected to represent the truth of the monad, a solitary element from which every single material thing are said to determine.

Rundown of the Hieroglyphic Monad: The image is developed from four unmistakable images: the visionary finishes paperwork for the moon and the sun, the cross, and the zodiacal indication of Aries the ram, spoke to by the two semi-hovers at the base of the glyph.


© 2024 All rights reserved.